Malaysia Flag Meaning & Details


« Previous Country | Next Country »   Back to Flag Counter Overview
 Malaysia Flag
 Flag Information
  • 14 equal horizontal stripes of red (top) alternating with white (bottom)

  • there is a dark blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner bearing a yellow crescent and a yellow 14-pointed star

  • the flag is often referred to as Jalur Gemilang (Stripes of Glory)

  • the 14 stripes stand for the equal status in the federation of the 13 member states and the federal government

  • the 14 points on the star represent the unity between these entities

  • the crescent is a traditional symbol of Islam

  • blue symbolizes the unity of the Malay people and yellow is the royal color of Malay rulers

    note: the design is based on the flag of the US

     Learn more about Malaysia »

     Source: CIA - The World Factbook


Flag Counter